Merry Christmas … and Skyrim!

So this is my inaugural blog post, I’m rather excited to be here. Firstly, I wish a Merry Christmas (and/or Happy Holidays!) to all of you out there in the ‘verse.

I hardly know where to begin, mostly because of the amazing influx of fantastic video games in the past few months. I have been trying to balance life, both professional and social, with Skyrim, Skyward Sword, and just recently, the new Star Wars The Old Republic MMO. How is a girl to survive? (Hint: The answer is, by not leaving her basement apartment.)

I’m sure you’ve all be playing at least one of these, and if you haven’t, then get on it! However, I’ll give a quick review, starting with Skyrim today (and the others to follow soon).

But first! May your Christmas be epic. (http://www.dorkly.com/picture/29292/skyrim-christmas-tree-topper)

Skyrim Christmas

Skyrim
This Elder Scrolls game is the latest of its kind by Bethesda, following Morrowind and Oblivion.  I have to admit, I never played Oblivion. But I did play Morrowind, and it was all-encompassing, with its huge world and nearly unlimited possibilities. Except in Morrowind, I had tried so hard to get into the Mage’s guild, only to be foiled by a weird little imp, and a glitch that wouldn’t let me attack it to complete my quest. Distraught, I remember climbing a mountain in search of better prey. Unfortunately for me, there were massive attack birds all over the mountain who repeatedly gutted me and feasted upon my tender flesh. Fed up with that idea, I went back to a previous save … which I had saved WHILE ON THE MOUNTAIN OF DEATH BIRDS. And thus ended my experience of Morrowind, as I had sunk so many hours into a game only to be trapped on a mountain.

Being no longer 13, and hopefully just a little less stupid, my experience with Skyrim was much more fruitful. As I went about exploring the vast realm of Skyrim, I blazed trails along snowy mountaintops, dealt with both friendly and mildly rude Nords (I was a Redguard, which they didn’t seem thrilled with…), killed VERY rude Thalmor, and battled majestic dragons. The so-called “real world” melted away. I literally felt a chill when I was in a Skyrim snowstorm, and had to grab a sweater. One day I looked into the night sky and  found myself gazing at a beautiful aurora borealis … which looked awesome on my top-notch computer graphics. Finally, in dire need of food, I ventured out of my basement dwelling and looked down at my hands only to wonder why they didn’t have little balls of magicka swirling within them. Skyrim was my home now.

My point with all of this is, I loved it. Skyrim is an incredibly immersive game, with fantastic graphics, and game mechanics that can be picked up with ease. While the game is not easy, it is not needlessly difficult either. You may die several times fighting dragons or old Dwemer machines, but you’ll certainly feel badass when you kill them. And you know, going around defeating dragons and absorbing their souls like it’s no big deal. I’ve been at this game for countless hours, and I still feel like there is so much more to discover and see and do and (most importantly) kill!

So there you have it, my two cents on Skyrim.

Oh, and a few confessions as well. I had a dog in Skyrim, he was called Meeko and I love him. I saved him from the deserted shack of his former master. He was happy and joyful, and helped me in my battles. I was so excited, it was just like having a Mabari wardog in Dragon Age. And then… I’m ashamed to admit, I let poor Meeko die. It was a busy battle, my wits were scattered, and by the time it was over, Meeko was dead at my feet. Also, I punched a goat to death and lit a bunny on fire, just for fun. But let’s face it, the bunny hopped right across my path – he was clearly asking for it.

And what would a Skyrim post be without something about taking an ***** to the ****? You know what I’m talking about. Here’s some dubstep. Just trust me. http://soundcloud.com/ramesesb/rameses-b-skyrim-in-the-knee

What were your experiences of Skyrim? And just so you know, every time you don’t post a comment below, a baby zombie is born.

About Dee

Gamer Geek Girl Blogger.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas … and Skyrim!

  1. Very nice review. As I’ve informed you before, my only gripe with Skyrim so far is that it’s such a vast world that gives the impression of having no limitations while preventing me from doing something like killing children. How can I play a psychopath when I can’t kill everything? Also, I hear the game is riddled with glitches but I have yet to experience them. I enjoyed reading this and look forward to a review on Skyward Sword.

  2. Liam Whalen says:

    Nice blog. What is the background from? I’m playing SWTOR now, and I’m having a great time. I’m looking forward to reading your review of Bioware’s excellent MMO.

  3. JoshuaEvo says:

    That’s the best usage of the Alduin statue that I’ve seen so far.

Leave a Reply

